Gluten Free Weight Loss

A gluten free diet is a diet that eliminates foods that contain any traces of wheat, rye, and barley. In general, a gluten free diet is adopted by people who suffer from celiac disease, which is an autoimmune disease in which the sufferer’s body reacts to gluten.

Gluten is a protein contained in several grains including wheat, barley, and rye. Even today, celiac disease has no cure but can be managed with a gluten free diet.

The gluten free weight loss diet had begun as a diet suggested to the celiac patients but eventually it became popular among people who wanted to lose excess weight and maintain healthy weight. As a result, many people, who have not been diagnosed with celiac disease, have given up gluten products with the intention of losing weight.

Gluten free weight loss diet foods include fresh fruits and vegetables, lean meats such as fish and poultry, tofu, and beans. You can eat low fat dairy products such as yogurt, skim milk, and cottage cheese but cheese should be gluten free. Gluten free grains including quinoa, brown rice, and gluten free oats can be consumed in moderation.

Consumption of ample amount of low calorie gluten free fluids is an important part of a gluten free weight loss diet. Examples of low calorie gluten free liquids are water, sugar free drinks or crystal light drinks, spirits, coffee and tea. Alcoholic beverages such as wine, whisky, brandy, ciders, and liquors can be consumed in moderation.

The gluten free weight loss diet also includes gluten free baked products, prepared with flours such as soy flour, rice flour, gram flour and almond flour. It also includes cereal stuffs prepared from rice bran, lentil flour, amaranth, polenta and Psyllium. You can also snack on popcorn, plain chocolate, and plain corn chips.

You must be watchful while purchasing your snacks because most baked goods contain wheat, including pancakes, pies, bread, waffles, cakes, bagels etc. Snacks and candies such as potato chips and other snack chips contain gluten too! Hence, before making your purchase, you should read their labels carefully and buy them only if they are labeled as “wheat free”.

You should also look for the hidden gluten that may be present in the food stuffs. You should also be careful about the products that have ‘modified food starch’ mentioned on their labels as they may have gluten.





This entry was posted in Diet